LIES confirmed as Chairman of Zurich, while all other Board members standing for re-election confirmed

11 April 2022 — Andrei Victor
The shareholders of Zurich Insurance Group confirmed Michel M. LIES as Chairman of the Board of Directors at Annual General Meeting (AGM). They also elected all the other current Board members who stood for re-election, and elected Peter MAURER as a new member of the Board as of October 1, 2022.

Thus, as of October 1, 2022, the Board will have 12 members, with equal gender representation.

Due to COVID-19, the meeting took place without the physical presence of shareholders, who were able to exercise their rights via the Independent Voting Rights Representative and follow the AGM via live webcast.

In his speech to shareholders Michel M. LIES said: "At Zurich, we exist to give people a sense of security during good times and to support them when things become difficult. We, as an insurance company, have been doing this for 150 years. The last year - indeed the last two years of the pandemic - have required swift and decisive action. Let me say here, not without pride: we have passed the test."

Group Chief Executive Officer Mario GRECO said: "We achieved a strong result in 2021 thanks to all our employees and despite facing increasing risks such as those from global warming. Our loyal customers understand that we always keep them front and center, even in the most unusual times. I'm convinced Zurich is ready to meet the challenges of the future, thanks to our transformation over recent years."

Shareholders also approved the dividend of CHF 22 per share, which will be paid from April 12, 2022. In a non-binding advisory vote, 73.87% of the represented shareholders approved the remuneration report 2021. All other Board proposals were also approved.

The Board of Directors and the Remuneration Committee consist of the following members:

Board of Directors

  • Michel M. LIES, Chairman
  • Joan AMBLE
  • Catherine BESSANT
  • Dame Alison CARNWATH
  • Christoph FRANZ
  • Michael HALBHERR
  • Monica MAECHLER
  • Kishore MAHBUBANI
  • Peter MAURER (joining the Board on October 1, 2022)
  • Jasmin STAIBLIN
  • Barry STOWE
Remuneration Committee

  • Christoph FRANZ, Chairman
  • Catherine BESSANT
  • Michel M. LIES
  • Kishore MAHBUBANI
  • Jasmin STAIBLIN
Share |