Turkey offers medical insurance to encourage tourism while pandemic still persists

24 June 2020 — Daniela GHETU
Given that travel insurance policies' coverage for Covid-19 health incidents is still questionable, Turkey announced it will cover the cost of medical treatment for holidaymakers, as a measure included in its Safe Tourism Certification Program aiming to encourage international travelers to visit the country.

The Safe Tourism Certification Program is an official system of accreditation that will certify, starting July 1st, that different kinds of travel services providers (accommodation units, restaurants, coffee shops, bars etc., as well as transportation services providers) are providing a Covid-19 secure environment. By auditing the accommodation and food and beverage facilities in accordance with international criteria, the accreditation companies that are authorized to grant the Safe Tourism Certificate will conduct hygiene and health audits and conformity assessments, prepare reports regarding them, and regularly inspect the applicants' facilities whether they provide services according to the criteria.

The program covers all aspects of the travel experience, from the flights and airports, to transfers, hotels and restaurants. As of 1 July, airlines, tour operators and other online marketplaces will sell the insurance packages covering medical costs up to EUR 7,000 - purchased by travelers as EUR 15, EUR 19, and EUR 23 insurance packages.

"We thought of all the details for our guests who want to have a holiday in our country during the epidemic period. As of July 1, we have created a health insurance package that includes Covid-19 for our foreign guests visiting our country," the Turkish Minister of Tourism and Culture stated for the international press gathered in Antalia.

The following countries have already joined the scheme: England, Ireland, Albania, Algeria, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Bulgaria, Chile, Costa Rica, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Indonesia, Israel, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Kosovo, Kuwait , Latvia, Lebanon, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Mexico, Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Netherlands, New Zealand, North Macedonia, Paraguay, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Ukraine and Uzbekistan.

Full information on the Safe Tourism Certificate programme is available in English on theTurkey Tourism Promotion and Development Agency website.

Share |