Sorin MITITELU is the new Vice President, Coordinator of the Insurance-Reinsurance Sector od the Romanian Financial Supervisory Authority

10 January 2024 — Daniela GHETU

On December 19, 2023 the Romanian Parliament has approved the appointment of the new Council of the Financial Supervisory Authority (ASF). Sorin MITITELU was appointed as Vice President, Coordinator of the Insurance-Reinsurance Sector for a 5 year mandate.

The full structure of the newly appointed Council is:

  • Alexandru PETRESCU – President
  • Gabriel-Ioan AVRAMESCU – First Vice President
  • Maria-Gabriela HORGA – Vice President, Coordinator of the Instruments and Financial Investments Sector
  • Sorin Cristinel MITITELU – Vice President, Coordinator of the Insurance-Reinsurance Sector
  • Stefan Daniel ARMEANU – Vice President, Coordinator of the Private Pensions Sector
  • Aura Gabriela SOCOL - non-executive member
  • Ovidiu-Razvan WLASSOPOL – non-executive member
  • Birtalan Jozsef – non-executive member.

The decision to appoint the new ASF Council was published in the Official Gazette no. 1150 on December 19, 2023.

Sorin MITITELU is the first member in the history of the ASF Council to come directly from the private sector, where he has worked for 30 years. While the majority of his career has been linked to the banking sector, Mititelu has been active in the insurance sector since 2014. He held a three years mandate as President of Directorate of BCR Life Insurance - VIG, after which he developed and managed his own business providing business development consulting and management services for companies within the financial services ecosystem.

Prior to his appointment as ASF President, Alexandru PETRESCU was the President of the National Agency for Mineral Resources (ANRM). Throughout his career, Alexandru Petrescu held several other notable positions among which: CEO of Romanian Post from March 2012 to January 2017, Minister of Communications and Information Society in the Government of Romania (since November 2018), Minister of Economy and Minister for Business, Trade, and Entrepreneurship (2016-2017), of the Board of Directors of S.N. CFR Calatori S.A., the Romanian national rail company, in 2015.